Top of page
Skip to main content
Main content

James AbbingtonAssociate Professor of Church Music and WorshipCandler School of Theology


  • DMAThe University of Michigan (Ann Arbor)1999
  • MMusThe University of Michigan (Ann Arbor)1995
  • BAMorehouse College1983


Dr. Abbington's research interests include music and worship in the Christian church, African American sacred folk music, organ, choral music, and ethnomusicology. Dr. Abbington serves as executive editor of the African American Church Music Series by GIA Publications (Chicago). He served as co-director of music for the Hampton University Ministers' and Musicians' Conference. In 2010, Hampton's Choir Directors'-Organists' Guild honored Abbington by naming their Church Music Academy after him. He has also served as the national director of music for both the Progressive National Baptist Convention and the NAACP.


  • Let the Church Sing On! Reflections on Black Sacred Music, Chicago: GIA Publications (2009)
  • King of Kings: Organ Music of Black Composers, Past and Present: Volume 2. Chicago: GIA Publications (2009)
  • King of Kings: Organ Music of Black Composers, Past and Present - Volume 1 (2008)
  • New Wine in Old Wineskins: A Contemporary Congregational Song Supplement - Volume 1 (2007)
  • Spirits That Dwell in Deep Woods: The Prayer and Praise Hymns of the Black Religious Experience by Wyatt Tee Walker, 2003, editor
  • Going to Wait! African American Church Worship Resources Between Pentecost and Advent, 2003, co-author
  • Waiting to Go! African American Worship Resources from Advent through Pentecost, 2002, co-author
  • Readings in African American Church Music and Worship, 2001
  • Let Mt. Zion Rejoice! Music in the African American Church, 2001


  • Use Me (2008)
  • 42 Treasured Favorites from the African American Heritage Hymnal (2008)
  • 46 Hidden Treasures from the African American Heritage Hymnal (2007)
  • Beams of Heaven (2006)
  • 49 Hidden Treasures from the African American Heritage Hymnal (2005)
  • How Excellent Is Thy Name (2004)
  • Spirits that Dwell in Deep Woods (2004)
  • Guide My Feet (2003)
  • Stop By Lord (2002)
  • Comes Summertime at Riverside Church (1999)