Top of page
Skip to main content
Main content

Wind Studies

Emory Wind Ensemble

The Wind Studies program at Emory University comprises large and small ensembles composed of wind, brass, and percussion instruments. The flagship ensemble within the program is the Emory Wind Ensemble (EWE). The EWE is a nationally recognized organization dedicated to performing wind literature of the highest caliber spanning six centuries of compositional practice.

A flexible instrumentation is employed with predominantly one player per part, offering students comprehensive exposure to classic and emerging repertoire following traditional wind ensemble performance practice.

The EWE has collaborated with premier soloists including Chris Martin (Principal Trumpet, New York Philharmonic), Stuart Stephenson (Principal Trumpet, Dallas Symphony Orchestra), Joe Alessi (Principal Trombone, New York Philharmonic), and Grammy Award-winning solo clarinetist Richard Stoltzman, and premiered new works by celebrated composers Warren Benson, Jennifer Higdon, Libby Larsen, John Mackey, Jonathan Newman, and Joseph Schwantner. The EWE is recorded on the NAXOS label.


The Wind Ensemble rehearses Mondays and Wednesdays from 4:30-6:30pm.